As Robert Burns Said. . .

Recently, my wife and I were planning a trip to Washington DC that would take us to Morgantown, West Virginia, to visit with her mother. During that time, I was going to attend a book signing at Seton Hill University in Greensburg, Pennsylvania. I received my MFA in writing popular fiction from this university in 2011. However, as Robert Burns said, “the best laid plans of mice and men. . .” About an hour and a half up the road, my wife was struck with horrible pain. Turns out, it was a kidney stone. The doctors at the emergency room told us we would have to cancel our trip. So we did.

I mention this because I always look forward to visiting Seton Hill. The environment for a writer is fantastic. There is a lot of love among the authors as well as respect and help. I always felt rejuvenated and restored after a visit. Currently, I’m drained. My creative batteries are low. This is causing me to sputter out while trying to finish a draft of a new novel in progress.

There is a lot of excitement about promoting a new book. I enjoy signings and getting to talk to people. It helps to drive me. I’ve only gotten the opportunity to do this once with my current novel in print. It has effected my drive to produce, which seems silly, but is still the case.

I don’t blame anyone for all this ill luck. There is a great amount of chance in everything we do. Sometimes the dice are in your favor. Other times you crap out.

Well, that’s that. Thanks for the time.

Darkly,

Vic Kerry

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

