Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

For the 2015, I’m trying to get through 20 classics  that I’ve never read. Jane Eyre was the first. In all honesty, I didn’t think that I would make it through. This book bogged me down something fierce.

The novel isn’t really that bad. It is just from a time when novels needed to be stream lined a bit more. It was the fashion of the time for books to read like that. It is a fashion I am glad is gone. The book is a fictional autobiography of a fictional woman. The book is full of proto themes that hadn’t been fully realized yet. There is a lot of religious discussions and demonstrations of the hypocrisy that so many religious people suffer from.

The thing I liked the most about Jane Eyre was that the main characters are referred to as being ugly or not very attractive. It is not often that you get ugly protagonist. It was a breath of fresh air in an otherwise tedious book.

I know why it has taken me so many years to get to reading this book. It’s under my belt now, and I can talk about it as one who has read it.

Darkly,

Vic Kerry

Leave a comment

Filed under 19th Century, Classic, Reviews

Leave a Reply

