The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid.

I don’t read memiors often. This particular one really had no attraction to me nor spoke to me in any way prior to reading it. The book details life of a boy coming of age in the 1950s and early 1960s. (I came of age in the 1980s and 1990s). The book however gave me a little insight into what i must have been like for my father, who would be the exact same age as the author.

Although the memior takes place in Des Moines, Iowa, and my father grew up in Alabama, I can still see the commonalities. I gave me a nostalgic feeling towards that time like A Boy’s Life by Robert McCammon did.

Although it wasn’t a classic, I started the book at Christmas but abandoned it almost at the end due to medical problems. I decided to finish it, and glad I was.

Darkly,

Vic Kerry

Leave a comment

Filed under Comedy, Reviews

Leave a Reply

