The Professor and the Madman

Every now and then, I’ll read nonficition. It’s not my favorite, but you know.  I was lended the book The Professor and the Madman. It was about the compilation of the OED. Apparently, a Civil War doctor went to England, killed a man, and ended up in an asylum. It turns out he was schizophrenic. The book details how he helped compile the OED (Oxford English Dictionary).

I work with the severally mentally ill for a living. I’ve done so for a long time. Books about schizophrenics don’t really interest me that much. (I live it). This was a good history of the evolution of an importan part of English Letters.

 

Darkly,

Vic Kerry.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

