Something from Kristin Dearborn

So my friend and fellow novelist and Seton Hill University alum tagged me in this little informational blog post. I’ve not been blogging much lately. (I didn’t realize that I hadn’t posted anything since August, but c’est la vie.)

 

1. What is the working title of your next book?

I’ve been working to two books. One currently titled Ashe Wednesday has been in the works for a while and is in a final draft stage/break period.

The other is a YA novel tentatively called Blue Jean Baby.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I have no idea on either one. Ashe Wednesday came out of me wanting to write a story set at Mardi Gras. The YA novel was an attempt to write a grittier teenage vampire novel.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Horror or paranormal. Ashe Wednesday is supposed to have some Southern Gothic feel to it as well.

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

William Shatner playing all the characters.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Ashe Wednesday: The Devil came down to Mobile.

Blue Jean Baby: Something horrible happens to a boy after an Elton John concert in 1972.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I will put it in a drawer before self-publishing.  

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

Ashe Wednesday took way too long. Blue Jean Baby only a few months.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I try not to compare.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Mobile, Alabama and its Mardi Gras, plus, my deceased friend wanted me to write a story in Mobile. He didn’t live to see it finished.

Blue Jean Baby I wanted to write  a grittier teen vampire novel, and of course Elton John’s “Tiny Dancer”

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

My wicked sense of humor.

There we are a preview of two things I’ve been working on. Honestly, I have no idea where the time came from to develop two stories simultaneously. I guess I filled up any blank minutes with writing.

I hope you liked this Kristin Dearborn. Congrats on the book as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

