Antony and Cleopatra

I’m back to Shakespeare. I only have a few weeks left in this year and a few plays left to read. The latest review is for Antony and Cleopatra. I have to say that I’ve read several Roman-themed plays so far. I lack only one: Titus Andronicus, and it’s up next. Of the Roman-themed plays, I like this the least. I never really cared too much about what was going on with the characters. All I could think about the whole time was Elizabeth Taylor as Cleopatra in that old movie. This to me was some more of Shakespeare’s melodrama.

I didn’t feel it for the doomed lovers. I just wanted them to go ahead and die.  The asps couldn’t have come soon enough. Maybe I took too long between plays and got out of the Shakespeare mood; maybe not.  All I know is that I’ve got this one under my belt.

 

What’s left?

Macbeth

Titus Andronicus

The Tempest

Maybe I’ll pick Macbeth  up this week since, we’re heading into Halloween. Witches, ghosts, and murder make good bedfellows right?

Darkly,

Vic Kerry

Leave a comment

Filed under Shakespeare, Tragedy

Leave a Reply

