The Taming of the Shrew

The Taming of the Shrew is one of my favorite plays, but I don’t really know why. It had been a while since I read this one. I took interest in it way back in 1999 or 2000 when 10 Things I Hate About You came out. I read it then. Now I will say this, it was not exactly what I remembered.

I had forgotten that is a frame play. Actually it’s a play within a play. The whole story is fictional from the onset. It is performed for a bum that people are playing a practical joke on. I also forgot the blatant spousal abuse in this play. Really this could be called better living through wife beating. The whole way that the Shrew (Katerina) is tamed is by being abused by her husband. It was Shakespeare’s Stepford Wives.  I guess it could be called the Padua Wives or the Merry Wives of Padua.

My attitude changed a little bit toward this play. My alter ego has lived a different life than many. He spent time teaching anger management to the perps of domestic violence, so it changes the way this play is read.

Much like the S&P downgraded America’s credit rating, I’ve downgraded this play to the second tier of enjoyable plays.

Read it anyway.

Darkly (counting the ways I loathe thee)

Vic Kerry

Leave a comment

Filed under comedy, Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

