As You Like It

I decided that one of the goals for 2011 will be to read the plays of Shakespeare. This will include those plays I’ve already read through the years, and of course, those I have not. It is a daunting task to say the least. So anyway, I started with Othello and As You Like It. I’m still reading Othello. It is a backburner read as of right now. As You Like It is a different story.
I’m going to say up front, I didn’t like it. I know that Shakespeare and his audience had a love of the mistaken identity and the women dressing up as men, but this story got tired fast. The different women falling in love with the female character is drag, didn’t work for me in this play as it did in
Twelfth Night. Eventually, I just said, “I don’t care what happens to these people. I am board with them.” This play was like a Jane Austen novel written by the Bard. Also, there were far too many songs in this play for my taste.
So, as I keep up with my Shakespeare, I’m putting this one toward the bottom of the pile. It’s not the worst, but it’s not the best either. “All the world is a stage,” the play says, and if this had been a DVD, I would have turned it off.

Darkly,
Vic

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

